Sweet 15

Olá y’all!

Screenshot_20170518-235844

Yes, I did just say that! Haha! What can I say? I’m a southern girl livin’ it up in Brazil. Well, maybe not “livin’ it up” but I’m definitely trying to make the best of my life here.

Anyhow… my sweet, amazing, beautiful daughter just had a birthday and not just any birthday either, it was her “15th birthday”! I’m actually looking more forward to her 16th birthday but she’s half Mexican so her 15th should be special too, right?

DSCN6029

We decided to celebrate with a Mexican themed party and it was sooo much fun.

Mexican culture is hardly anywhere to be found here in Brazil, with the exception of 2 or 3 Mexican restaurant and lots of paletas, so we figured it’d be fun to bring some of the culture to them! Well, Tex Mex culture anyways….

There were some decorative things I had to make myself, but I don’t mind the challenge and when Manuel came and preached for us he brought me some stuff I’d bought from Amazon for decorations.

So first, let’s talk decor… There’s no piñatas that I’ve seen here, so I went to pinterest for ideas. Sadly ideas don’t come to me easily but I can duplicate like there’s no tomorrow!

I love how the piñata came out. We named her Chula and yes, she had a mustache and wore it proudly.

 DSCN6009

Here’s some step by step pics and the link where I got the idea. Pretty easy.  ehow.com/how_5022697_make-donkey-pinata.html?

 

We had just moved so I had tons of boxes. Julia cut these awesome cacti out of them and with some spray paint they came out looking pretty awesome.

DSCN6013

All other decorations were from Amazon.

DSCN6012DSCN6005

I made flowers for the ladies’ hair and bought some sticky mustaches for the men. My hubby was the only one with an authentic mustache. You go boy!

 

Now on to the menu!

DSCN6032

We invited around 30 people so I needed something Tex Mex, easy, and that wouldn’t keep me bound to the kitchen.

I’ve noticed the parties I’ve been to here have mostly been catered but ummm, I just don’t roll that way.

So I settled on tortas with refried beans, ground beef, and all the fixin’s.

DSCN6054

I knew anything I made would be new to everyone here so I tried to keep that in mind. Some people said the sandwiches looked gross to them, but we’re delicious once they gave them a try. I give them all props for trying new things!

I also made elote, or mexican corn in a cup. We’ve managed to create our own version of it here and we probably eat it too often. I did leave the hot sauce and any spiciness out of everything because most people here just don’t appreciate spicy stuff.

However, there was plenty of hot sauce on the side.

DSCN6031

I even made my own mix of chili lime salt! Sooo yummy! I put equal parts lemon powder, chili powder, salt, and sugar. The sugar was my hubbies idea and it was a great one, being the resident Mexican makes him the expert!

I also served fruit cups and popcorn, which was amazeeee with the chili-lime salt.

DSCN6017

That was pretty much it for the menu. I also made guacamole for the sandwiches and one of the missionary wives here brought her homemade salsa, and it was oh, so gooooood.

Now, on to the games! We played loteria, pin the tail on the donkey, and a “Julia” trivia game. Of course, we had the piñata as well.

DSCN6021DSCN6129DSCN6123

Now, normally adults don’t play pin the tail on the donkey. We’re too cool er, mature for that BUT if you’d never seen a certain game before that’d make you be more eager to give it a try. Therefore, there were no party poopers here!

 

Our guests were truly great sports and made everything so much fun! I think I laughed till my cheeks hurt.

The funniest part was when it was time to hit the pinata! Everyone got so competitive! After everyone hit it and it still hadn’t broken someone grabbed it and starting whacking away! That’s not how it’s supposed to go but it was hilarious to watch.

I forgot to take a picture of the cake but I made an oreo ice cream cake and a lady from our church made her famous brigadeiro cake, which is pretty much chocolate on chocolate on chocolate cake. Needless to say, it’s delicious!

You can’t have a Mexican party without some mariachi! Just kidding, we didn’t have mariachi but Genaro and Julia pulled off a good version of Cielito Lindo. Good job guys! They’re always up for fun!

Julia said it was her best birthday yet! Yay! Success! Of course, our awesome friends were what made it so special.

Another blessing was that some family and friends blessed her with some spending money AND some other friends got together and sent her some snacks and gifts.

Now, you have to understand that it costs a lot of money to send stuff through the mail here so that was incredibly thoughtful. The smile on her face made it all worth it. ❤️

Tchau for now folks! Thanks for coming along for the ride! Brazil for Jesus!

P. S. Check out Julia’s blog. It’s a great source of encouragement and fun for teens.

https://jewlzoflife.wordpress.com/2017/06/28/the-me-generation/

Julia,

I’m so proud to be your mother. I’m so proud of your desire to make this pioneer adventure your own. I applaud you for your amazing attitude and heart. I applaud you because when I call people to invite them to church or to encourage them you’ve already called them twice as many times as I have and that includes the adult ladies! God can do so much with a heart as surrendered as yours. You’re an amazing young woman of God already,  and I look forward to watching as you spread your wings and finding your way in this life. You can count on me being there on the front row praying and cheering you on. Thank you for being you. 💜

Love,

Mom

Author:

Happily married Christian mother of two. Gave my life to Jesus at 17 in 1997. He saved me, cleansed me, turned my life and set my feet upon His solid ground. Love Brazil & the US, love to read, love technology and love to homeschool my children and date my husband.

6 thoughts on “Sweet 15

  1. I absolutely loved all the decorations! Everything looked wonderful! if I’m being honest, I cried reading your little letter to Julia!😭 Your relationship is so beautiful and inspirational ❤️

Leave a Reply

