Impact

Impact. Isn’t that what we all want our legacy to include? That we had impact?

Whether it’s in the ministry, in a nation, in the lives of others or maybe even in our trade. We all desire to matter and to have impact.

I’m just like everyone else. I desire to make a difference. I desire to make an impact somewhere. I desire to leave this earth knowing that my life had meaning.

Lots of things that we pour our hearts into can be thankless. Parenting, for one. You always hear that parenting is a thankless job. I don’t necessarily agree with that at all, btw.

Pioneering can be a thankless job. People are naturally self-centered so it can be difficult when your giving your all to them and they leave, talk bad about you and etc, etc. However, if we truly believe our reward is in heaven then it’s not exactly thankless, is it? I’d much rather have God’s reward for doing His will than man’s anyways. Wouldn’t you?

I write this because in the middle of a “pioneer battle” my daughter sent me a message. It represented so much more to me than just kind words from a daughter to a mother. I thought, “Oh wow,  I’m having a profound impact on her life”. And not just in a mommy-daughter way but in a spiritual way.

We’ve been here in Brazil for 3 years now and as my daughter matures it seems to dawn on her more and more every day how much of a sacrifice it was to leave everything behind and take this step of faith.

Some people can be scared to enter the ministry because of what it’ll “do” to their kids, especially being a missionary. We don’t have all the comforts of the US. My kids aren’t getting extra-curricular activities like in the US, maybe they’re not even getting an amazing education, maybe they won’t graduate with college credits already under their belts so on and so forth. The list could go on!

No, my kids are getting a completely different experience. Neither is better, both are great, both have pros and cons, you get the idea. Ultimately, its all up to them what they make of the life they’re given.

Imagine that just by saying “yes” to God we can have profound impact on them and others. Could it be that simple?

Remember someone is always watching even if we don’t realize it and it’s usually our precious children. Let us not focus all our energy on building the church and neglect our children. How about getting them involved in building the church?

Or… how about not putting them in ministry just because they’re yours and actually expect them to strive for it by being righteous and a godly example…? Hmm? There’s something to chew on. I guarantee that’ll have a positive impact on their lives. (Oh, no she didn’t!) 

We never tell our kids, “you’re a pastor’s kid, so you need to be an example”. No. We tell them, “you represent Christ and if you’re a Christian you’re called to be an example”. A little balance can bring about a greater impact on our children.

Anyways, my heart was refreshed by my daughter’s words so much that I wanted to share. I wanted to show parents the possible impact you can have on your kids by doing what’s hard, what’s right, or WHATEVER God has put on your heart to do.

As the saying goes, and I believe it to be true, “being in the will of God is the safest place to be”. (and I say that after getting mugged a while back) Ha! However, I’m referring to eternal impact, not temporal, eternal. Think about that with me. E-ter-nal. Mind blown yet?

Honestly, I’m nothing special. I have no extraordinary talents. I’m shy, awkward and stubborn sometimes. I just try my best and ask God to fill in where I lack, and He is faithful and willing.

My intention here is to encourage and inspire.  My intention is to show that in our struggle, someone is watching how we handle ourselves. Someone’s watching if we’re complaining or finding joy even in the hard times; the world is watching, and our children are definitely watching. 

The beautiful thing is that we can be completely human, completely imperfect and still make a diffrence. In our willingness to be real and glorify God in our failures, we give people hope for their future. Isn’t that what our testimonies strive to achieve? I want my kids to know that I desperately need God because I fail. I desperately need God because life is hard sometimes. I want them to see godliness in me the midst of my hardest battles. 

Thanks for taking the time and stopping by. Now, go! Conquer and make a difference!

Tchau for now!

Melody

On a side note: Julia has started a blog of her own so I hope you stop on over and check it out! Jewlzoflife.wordpress.com

Author:

Happily married Christian mother of two. Gave my life to Jesus at 17 in 1997. He saved me, cleansed me, turned my life and set my feet upon His solid ground. Love Brazil & the US, love to read, love technology and love to homeschool my children and date my husband.

5 thoughts on “Impact

  1. I am a product of Godly parents who gave their all to their gospel and as a result they are seeing a 3rd generation serving God too. Our impact is a powerful thing !

  2. That was so beautiful! You are an inspiration and I’ve always told you , y’all are such a great example. Thank you for your sacrifice. How rewarding for a mom to hear Her daughter say you those things. You truly are making an impact! 💗💖💕

Leave a Reply

