The Mind is a Battlefield

image

I’m not the most spiritual person in the world… My brain tends to lean in the “realist” direction.

That being said, I know my God is real. I know His love is real. I know His plan for my life is real.

Proverbs 3:5 “Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and do not lean on your own understanding.”

I also know the enemy is real.

I’m analytical too. It’s just the way my brain is wired. It’s the way I compute things with the ole’ noggin. It’s not necessarily a bad thing. It doesn’t take away from my faith. It actually serves me well.

Hebrews 2:1 “Therefore we must pay much closer attention to what we have heard, lest we drift away from it.”

When I’m going through something, my methodically wired; analytical brain reminds me that I’ve either a) gone through this before, or b) God hasn’t failed me in any other area so why worry in this one?

So even realists like me can have successful relationships with God! Yay!

I don’t resent trials either because… If I’d never had a trial before how on earth could my brain have previous information to compute and compare and ultimately relay to myself to “Chill!“, it all worked out last time, it’ll be fine this time too.

Matthew 10:16 “Behold, I send you out as sheep in the midst of wolves. Therefore be wise as serpents and harmless as doves.”

I know everything is safe in Gods hands. I am safe in Gods hands. My family is safe in Gods hands.

I remember one of my favorite preachers (Marty Carnegie) preaching  and he said, “Different levels, bring different devils!” I thought that was such a cool saying and so true. Here in Brazil, I know I’ve met different devils! Different struggles and different pains but God also seems different to me out here. Maybe different isn’t the right word. Maybe “Bigger” would be more fitting? Oh, C’mon Somebody! God should feel bigger in our trials, if He doesn’t maybe you’re trying to go it alone…? Just a thought.

Another amazing quote that has stuck with me is that, “God will always keep you where you need Him most.” Meaning – God will give you a little more so you stay needing of Him. (A little more trial? A little more ministry? Etc) I remember hearing that when we had just starting pioneering our first church. It felt a little overwhelming at the time and that resonated with me because it reminded me that God has our backs. He’s in control. He wants to be in charge. He wants me to trust in Him. He’s given us this ministry and “knowing I need Him” is the best gift He could give me.

Recently, I was feeling overwhelmed. OK… More than overwhelmed. I was going through a trial that was plaguing my mind. At times it felt crippling; and I hate to feel vulnerable mentally and spiritually. I knew OK, I need to pray harder and keep my mind filled with the Word of God. I’ve have learned to equip myself. It’s OK to struggle; but not stupidly. Get people involved. Get God involved.

Isaiah 26:3 “You keep him in perfect peace whose mind is stayed on you, because he trusts in you.”

I’m better now. I survived, and I’m better for it. God is too good for me and He loves me anyways. I was reminded to stay sharpened and well fed spiritually. I was reminded that I have people I can count on. I needed these reminders and I know it’ll serve me well in the next mind battle. I’ve learned to welcome them, even though it’s not easy.

James 1:2-4 “Consider it pure joy, my brothers and sisters, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith produces perseverance. Let perseverance finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything.

I will now mentally note this trial. I’ll meticulously file it away in my brain so next trial I’ll remind myself, “It’ll be OK. God’s trustworthy. Put this in His hands.” Remember? It worked out the last time you did.

2 Corinthians 10:3-6 “For though we walk in the flesh, we are not waging war according to the flesh. For the weapons of our warfare are not of the flesh but have divine power to destroy strongholds. We destroy arguments and every lofty opinion raised against the knowledge of God, and take every thought captive to obey Christ, being ready to punish every disobedience, when your obedience is complete.”

Pray for me as I pray for you all. The Mind Is A Battlefield.
Tchau!

💕In this post I want to publicly thank my husband because he let’s me freely lean on him through anything and because he leads me to Jesus. This verse comes to mind: 1 Peter 3:7
 “Likewise, ye husbands, dwell with your wives with understanding, giving honor unto the wife as unto the weaker vessel, and as being heirs together of the grace of life, that your prayers be not hindered.”
I don’t know how you do this so well but I’m so thankful you do. You’re never prideful with me. Thank you for being gentle with my emotions even though they are, at times… unwarranted and nonsensical.
I’d follow you anywhere.🌎

Author:

Happily married Christian mother of two. Gave my life to Jesus at 17 in 1997. He saved me, cleansed me, turned my life and set my feet upon His solid ground. Love Brazil & the US, love to read, love technology and love to homeschool my children and date my husband.

8 thoughts on “The Mind is a Battlefield

  1. Melody, you guys know if you need help translating worship and praise songs into Portuguese, just let me know and I will do the best I can. You have my email.
    #Brazil4Jesus

  2. Awesome post! it made me tear up a little. God is good! I’m praying for you guys/lifting you up.

  3. Great Blog! Very timing words for us out here in DFW!! My mind is a constant battlefield; Plz pray for us as we intercede for uall:)

  4. We are praying for you and your family. I admire you so much. Your honesty…your determination … Your love and respect for the call.. Your husband and children. Thank you for sharing this. Your awesome! Hang in there.. GOD IS SOOOO GOOD⛅️

Leave a Reply

