Making Friends and Keeping Busy

Hello All!

The trees in this country are AH-MA-ZiNG!
The trees in this country are AH-MA-ZiNG!

We just celebrated our first Easter here in Brazil, which is always a little strange when you don’t have a church building. When we pioneered Edinburg we didn’t have a building during Christmas and we hadn’t started working with people yet. That felt even more strange. Nevertheless, we have met some wonderful people here. We are already having bible studies as you know. We took communion during bible study. I had been asking my husband if we were going to have it. I really like the tradition of taking communion during Easter. So we decided even if it was just us we’d still take communion. Gladly though, we had others to partake with us. I always get a little emotional because I’m just so thankful and I’m still amazed at how God has blessed me, considering where I came from. He is so good.

One of the challenges we’ve had here is finding things we need. My husband had been looking for the unleavened crackers we used in the states. Or at least something similar. He’s also been asking people we’ve met and pastors he’s met, how does Brazil celebrate Easter? Brazil is a mostly Catholic leaning country and Christianity is high on the rise so we assumed Easter would be as big as in America but it’s not. And we’re still learning….to not assume. Ha! Usually people spend the day with their family and some attend church late in the evening. No egg hunt or baskets full of candy. They do give the kids a chocolate….that’s it, just one chocolate egg! Oh, the horror!!! Just joking, of course. I don’t care much about these things anyways. We’ve never emphasized the Easter bunny. Easter belongs to Jesus alone! Move over bunny! I do miss the candy though…by the way! Candy here is not as good, but the chocolate’s pretty amazing.

_20140422_192017 (2)

Finally, we learned that churches here use regular bread and unleavened can’t be found unless cooked…by me. Ummm, no thanks. We used bread. Jesus is the Bread of Life. Works for me. Next year we’ll probably use crackers. And the grape was so potent I had to double check we didn’t accidentally buy alcoholic. Imagine what a story that would’ve been! Anyways, that was a wonderful service.

A week before, Jason had met a nice kid at the park. He came running saying, “I met a friend! He speaks english!” Finding anyone that speaks english is an “event” for us. Lol! This friend of his can say, “Hi” and “What!?” and a very few other words in english but none of that matters on the playground. Jason’s happy with his new friend. He’s a very nice boy. This is Mateus.

Jason and Mateus
Jason and Mateus

Then Mateus told my husband, “Have you met my dad?” (In Portuguese, of course) he then ran and brought his father. Who is now a friend of ours. He coaches futbol. Also, his dad is a retired police officer so it’s nice to get his take on the city.

Here's Genaro with Davidson
Here’s Genaro with Davidson

That same day he invited us to his mothers house for cafe de tarde. We were a little surprised we agreed, since we had just met him.  They ended up being great people and we love hanging out with them. They remind us of home because of the way they joke around and are so pleasant. After talking to him we know God meant for us to meet. They haven’t come to the study yet but I can see God working on them already. They’re fascinated by us. It’s funny. They’re are so interested in what it’s like for us being here. I’m kinda shy and don’t enjoy the spotlight but that’s kinda hard to avoid here. They ask us so many questions and stare as we try anything they put before us. Even simple things like juice and coffee. I guess I just need to get used to it. They invited us for Easter and we had such a good time we’re already looking forward to seeing them again. They even have cooking contest among themselves. (The mom has 9 kids, all adults now) We’ve been made to feel apart of the family which is common for Brazilians and I’m even cooking in the next contest! I believe God put them in our lives for us as much for them.

Here's our new friends, they've already had us over 3 times in 1 week.
Here’s our new friends, they’ve already had us over 3 times in 1 week.

April 2014 005 (2)

The Easter lunch was delicious. They made pasta in a pressure cooker. I’d never seen one before and they’re convinced it’s the best way to cook. I’m sure they have them in the states. We also had salad and rice with the pasta. Interesting combination, but nothing weird. I’m just used to the carb, meat and veggie only ratio. I didn’t want to show up empty handed so I made deviled eggs which I figured would be a good American Easter food. I was relieved to see that they really liked them. It was hilarious watching my husband explain the name “deviled” to them. Ahh…the joy of language barriers. Soon we were sharing recipes and they’re eager to teach me some Brazilian cooking. We had Davidson and his mom over for lunch and Julia had made brownies and Jenny, his mom, was so impressed because she said it’s not common for kids to cook here. So Julia’s loving the compliment and cooking more often! Woo-hoo!

She turns 12, by the way, this Thursday. She’s getting so big!

Here's Julia at her desk video chatting with Jordyn Wacker, Ashley Madrid and Bethany Crandell. I love that she can keep in touch with her friends.
Here’s Julia at her desk video chatting with Jordyn Wacker, Ashley Madrid and Bethany Crandell. I love that she can keep in touch with her friends.

A week before Easter we met a pastor from our fellowship from Switzerland, he was here for his brother’s wedding. It was so refreshing to meet him after being here alone for 4 months! He spoke english and it was interesting hearing about his life. His Pastor is Richard Brooks so he got saved in Romania and went back to his home country of Switzerland to start a church. He even gave us a word while waiting for bible study to start. That’s our 4th word that God is going to do something in this nation and we’re humbled to be apart of it. I felt like we had our own personal revival, just hanging out with him. It was such a blessing to have a visitor. Here’s some pics.

Jason loved Pastor Matthis! He talked him up a storm but he didn't mind.
Jason loved Pastor Matthis! He talked him up a storm but he didn’t mind.
This is us paddle boating! So much fun and only US$2.50 a person!
This is us paddle boating! So much fun and only US$2.50 a person!
This is a statue of Athena; greek goddess of wisdom, warfare, etc. Apparently she's headless because a legend that she lost her head after a battle but this was in Portuguese...lol
This is a statue of Athena; greek goddess of wisdom, warfare, etc. Apparently she’s headless because a legend that she lost her head after a battle but this was in Portuguese…lol
At every park you can see city workers taking naps during the afternoon.
At every park you can see city workers taking naps during the afternoon.
Huge playground
Huge playground
I found the spice jackpot! There's spices here I'm used to that Brazilian haven't heard of. This is from the Central Market.
I found the spice jackpot! There’s spices here that I’m used to but they’re not popular here. This is at the Central Market.

March 2014 052 March 2014 054

And for your favorite…..MONKEYS!!! You know you enjoy them as much as I do.

I’m not sure who these guys were. I wish I’d gotten more info about them. Their voices are amazing.

This isn't the clearest pic, it was taken with a phone but you can see the green parrot. There were about 20 in this tree. It's illegal to capture them here but so awesome to see them flying everywhere.
This isn’t the clearest pic, it was taken with a phone but you can see the green parrot. There were about 20 in this tree. It’s illegal to capture them here but so awesome to see them flying everywhere.

I have so many pictures and video but it’ll have to wait til some other time. Thanks for reading my blog! We’re getting closer to a building. I can feel it! Keep us in prayer and we take this nation for Jesus!

download_20140420_094304 (2)

Tchau!

 

 

 

 

Author:

Happily married Christian mother of two. Gave my life to Jesus at 17 in 1997. He saved me, cleansed me, turned my life and set my feet upon His solid ground. Love Brazil & the US, love to read, love technology and love to homeschool my children and date my husband.

10 thoughts on “Making Friends and Keeping Busy

  1. I know that “getting closer to a building” feeling, so keep the faith, sister! There IS a building, God does know where it is, He’s seen you in it already, and if He’s not worried, neither should you be!
    It’s a wild ride. Enjoy it, you amazing missionaries you!

  2. When we moved to Taiwan, and still, people would stare at our daughters. They are the antithesis of Taiwanese girls. Blond, confident (as opposed to shy) so they attract a lot of attention. People are just really curious…so I just use it as an opportunity to strike up a conversation.

  3. Hopefully he didn’t translate deviled eggs the way I did in Spanish once … gave it a whole new meaning! 0.o

  4. Wow your new friends look like fun. Really wish we could all meet them, hey maybe one day we will. I am so excited for what God is doing through you. Keep doing what your doing.

  5. That is amazing girl! Your deviled eggs were delicious I know they loved them! Keep doing what you are doing friend. You know when I read your posts I hear theme music in the background (like seriously), like if your life is a narrated movie, so it was weird to watch the monkeys video cause it was real quiet. I don’t know, I’m weird. Love you guys!

  6. That is amazing girl! Your deviled eggs were delicious I know they loved them! Keep doing what you are doing friend. You know when I read your posts I hear theme music in the background (like seriously), like if your life is a narrated movie, so it was weird to watch the monkeys video cause it was real quiet. I don’t know, I’m weird. Love you guys! 🙂

Leave a Reply

