A Wife’s Interpretation Of The Building Hunt

Could their be anyone more frustrated than a Pastor without a church building?
Anyone that knows my husband, knows he’s a man of few words, a man not given to his emotions but I can see the frustration. I pray for a building daily, probably more for him than the people.
I have so much respect for Pastors, especially working pioneer pastors. I watched my husband work more than 40 hours a week as the boss of a branch for his ex-employment. THEN, he’d get home and play with/or listen to his kids, THEN he’d indulge his wife til her pretty little heart desired, THEN maybe even help me clean up, THEN start his sermon at midnight. Other days, he’d follow up on his way home from work. Then there’s preparing for bible studies, outreaches, etc. And you know that pioneers often do all this alone until disciples get a vision and join in the fun. Sometimes, he’d even help me clean church…! It’s nice having help sometimes. ὠ9
Now we’re in Brazil and he’s a full time pastor. Such a blessing! I see him trying to find his groove. He seeks out things to do daily and feels frustrated if he can’t find enough to do. I didn’t understand it at first. I’m just loving seeing him more often. However, its ingrained in a man to work. To conquer. To succeed. To build his territory. Its ingrained in a godly man to build God’s territory.
Finding a building in Brazil is proving itself a difficult task. We had a beautiful building in Edinburg. It was on the main street next to Sprint and Texas Workforce Commission and across from Starbucks! Plenty of free publicity there. Of course, it would be ridiculous to compare Belo to that. When you move somewhere you’ve never been, you need God involved more than ever. He knows the fruitful areas, where we’ll find open doors, etc. Is he silent, or have we not stumbled across “the building” yet?
The good thing is that during his search, my husband has met numerous business people and even fellow pastors. They’ve been able to share valuable information about buildings and the city, the people and other tidbits.
I’m frustrated too but I keep that to myself. I just cheer him on for his determination and unwavering labor. Pray for us! The gringos need favor and wisdom. I feel the prayers of those diligently praying back home. I know God’s moving us in the right direction. We’re here to build His church. We’re here to spread His gospel and He’s into that.
We don’t have a building yet but we’re meeting precious souls and watching God move upon their hearts. That helps ease the frustration.
Here’s a few verses that are an encouragement to me.
Eph 4:11-12 says,
“And he gave the apostles, the prophets, the evangelists, the shepherds and teachers, to equip the saints for the work of ministry, for building up the body of Christ,”
Matt 16:18
“And I tell you, you are Peter, and on this rock I will build my church, and the gates of hell shall not prevail against it.”                       Isaiah 66:1-2
Thus says the Lord: “Heaven is my throne, and the earth is my footstool; what is the house that you would build for me, and what is the place of my rest? All these things my hand has made, and so all these things came to be, declares the Lord. But this is the one to whom I will look: he who is humble and contrite in spirit and trembles at my word.”
2 Sam 7:5-7
“Go and tell my servant David, ‘Thus says the Lord: Would you build me a house to dwell in? I have not lived in a house since the day I brought up the people of Israel from Egypt to this day, but I have been moving about in a tent for my dwelling. In all places where I have moved with all the people of Israel, did I speak a word with any of the judges of Israel, whom I commanded to shepherd my people Israel, saying, “Why have you not built me a house of cedar?”

Here’s some buildings we’ve looked at, just to give you an idea of how buildings are here. They all have an “open air” thing going on with the garage doors, some need walls broken down and lots of work. We can’t wait to have our own!

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

This is the Agape Church. They’ve become friends of ours. They had a surprise party for the Pastor and invited us.

Image

Here’s a picture of a Brazilian church my husband visited. This is the link if you wanna hear this guy preach sideways. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d0b4J5Ohb54&feature=youtu.be

We miss you all and covet your prayers. Please follow and comment! It’s always nice to hear from you all and know you’re out there. God Bless!

Tchau!

Author:

Happily married Christian mother of two. Gave my life to Jesus at 17 in 1997. He saved me, cleansed me, turned my life and set my feet upon His solid ground. Love Brazil & the US, love to read, love technology and love to homeschool my children and date my husband.

8 thoughts on “A Wife’s Interpretation Of The Building Hunt

  1. Hello there my Fudgy friend!!! Building hunting is always a frustrating thing, God will lead you to the right place at the right time! And it’s always a worse feeling on the man BC you’re right, they’re there on a mission and that’s to win souls for the Kingdom… Not to play Patty cake… Lol Been there, done that… 3 times!!! Lol Ahhh, this is where patience & waiting on God comes to play, my friend…. Can’t wait to see what God does for y’all!! Keep on blogging and I’ll keep on commenting so you know I’m still out here!! 😀

    Love Your Nutty Friend!!!

  2. Hey u guys. It’s a blessing knowing the teenagers me and my wife grew up with are doing a wonderful work for God. We pray for you all daily. One thing I’ve learned is trust in God and he will move for you. God is going to do a wonderful work there. Fight the good fight. We love u guys and miss u all. Belo for Jesus.

  3. Hey guys. Been reading all you’re posts. Billy was here about a week ago and he got to see all you’re pictures. He feels much better seeing where you live. Now he has a different picture and isn’t so upset. Hang in there and let us know if you need something. Love Richelle

  4. Wow friend. So you would have that big door open during service? Or am I just being weird? Lol that would be cool if you did though. Well God will open doors soon for you guys to start services. Let us know when. We will be praying for you. We love you guys. Raihden saw your guys picture on the wall and was naming everyone. I think he misses Jason. Even though they had such little time together. Still wanna see pictures with you in them friend! We love you all. Peace out!

  5. Hola Melody,
    Good to hear all the wonderful things and testimonies God is doing in Your city:) yes Amen working pioneer pastors is a tough job! Miss u guys and believing God to move in ur area..

Leave a Reply

